News > Report on the Cubicle Centre Classic Racing race at Cadwell Park



HSCC Classic Racing Cars supported by the Cubicle Centre Ltd.

Cadwell Park April 24th & 25th 2011

In addition to the stand alone one litre F3 races, two rounds of the Cubicle Centre Ltd. Classic Racing Cars Championship were held on the challenging Cadwell Park circuit; twenty five cars appeared for qualification, fifteen of them one litre F3s. The class G cars of Ian Gray and Ian Jones led the way ahead of the Juniors of Milicevic and Claridge, Leif Bosson and Jim Chapman headed the F3s with Haines’ class G Cooper having no less than five F3s lining up behind him. Series regulars Holland and Tizzard just edging out Swiss visitor Widmer who in turn pipped Bankhurst and Wilkinson; in amongst the Formula Fords were O’Nion, Mallard debuting the Mallock, McMorran and Belgian visitor Poponcini in his immaculate Cooper. Kary, Thorpe, Froude and Bergs were the remaining F3s. Froude and Mallard had minor mechanical issues and did not take the start, Tizzard wasn’t seen and McMorran had  an incident in the Crossle in F3 qualifying leaving it sidelined for the weekend.

Ian Gray in his immaculate Brabham BT16 won comfortably ahead of Jones’ Lotus 59 and the two Juniors, behind them matters were not so simple; Chapman made a clean start and built up a comfortable lead, before being obliged to retire on lap seven, the water pump belt had broken causing severe overheating. Initially Bosson led the chase but was passed by Widmer, behind these two Bankhurst, Holland and Wilkinson were having a good battle, Holland gradually eased away to pass first Bosson and then Widmer on the last lap when Widmer ran wide. Holland and Bankhurst found a way past Haines’ Cooper, but Wilkinson found himself bottled up and stayed there to finish tenth overall, fifth in class. Geoff O’Nion and Andrew Thorpe spent the race battling with Formula Fords; Bergs, Poponcini and an overheating Tim Kary rounded out the field.

Monday’s race two again saw Ian Gray take another controlled victory ahead of Jones and Claridge, Milecevec missing this race in favour of the FJ race; Chris Holland had a quieter race initially heading Bosson before the Swede was obliged to retire on lap seven. Widmer had started well but a spin had dropped him back down the field, Haines and Wilkinson continued where they had left off on Sunday but a determined move by the Cheshire man finally found a way through, staying ahead until the run to the line on the last lap, Haines taking the verdict by six hundredths of a second. Widmer pulled back to seventh overall ahead of Mallard in the Mallock who had another good run to lead home O’Nion and series’ sponsor Andrew Thorpe; Peter Froude had a lonely run in his Tecno to finish well clear of Bergs and Poponcini.

After three races Chris Holland leads Class D on 21 points, Nigel Bancroft and Steve Wilkinson share second on 9 points, ahead of Bosson on eight, O’Nion on seven and David Methley on six.

Silverstone May 14th for the Grand Prix circuit and round 4.
 by Mike Faloon
Site by Netspin